top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarija Mijic

Meet The Team: Interview with Georgi Georgiev

Welcome on board to Georgi

Happy reading!

What did you do before craftworks?

I was born and raised in Bulgaria, and after high school, I relocated to Germany to pursue higher education. There, I studied Computer Science, and I was really interested in AI/Autonomous Systems. Following my studies, I landed a job in a company in a similar field. For my Master's degree, I wanted to move to a larger city, and Vienna was a great option, which was how I found craftworks.

What made you want to apply for your position at craftworks?

I wanted to apply because you offered Data Scientist and Data Engineer positions, and I was really interested in them. craftworks stood out to me as one of the few Vienna-based companies offering such roles, and I was impressed by the company.

What advice would you give someone who's just starting out in your field?

My advice would be to stay open-minded and be prepared for the vast scope of the field. Keep in mind all the possible subfields that you can specialize in and look out for those that spark your interest.

Could you tell us more about your position at craftworks and what you enjoy the most?

I'm a Data Engineer at craftworks, and I've had a decent onboarding. I appreciate that my initial tasks were clearly defined, and that I could always ask someone for advice, and everyone is really helpful and responsive.

What behavior or personality trait do you most attribute your success to, and why?

I think I would say perseverance because I have seen many talented people give up when things get challenging, but that is a characteristic of mine – persisting through difficulties. I believe it's crucial to keep going when things don't seem to go your way.

How do you go about continuing to develop your professional skills and knowledge?

I mostly learn from the professional setting, colleagues, and having to do the work and knowledge exchanges at work. Also, I read articles and watch videos on topics I'm interested in.

Which book would you recommend reading, and why?

I highly recommend Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari. Despite having prior knowledge and interest in this subject, this book completely changed my perspective on a lot of things, and it has done so in a very convincing way. Furthermore, I have also heard numerous people say that this book is exceptional.

What movies have you seen recently, and would you recommend them?

It's not a recent movie, but I really like Green Book. The film won an Oscar in 2019 and is based on a real story when racial segregation in the US was still a thing. The plot revolves around two men from vastly different backgrounds who develop an unexpected bond and profoundly impact each other's lives for the better.

Apart from work, what do you do with your time off?

I enjoy spending my time off reading books and watching educational videos. I have a keen interest in history, and I also enjoy working out and practicing various sports. Before moving to Vienna, I was a member of a gym and a martial arts club, where I focused on boxing and also tried out wrestling and Brazilian ju-jitsu. I also love swimming in my home country because we have excellent pools there.

What's one thing most people don't know about you?

I would say that different people see different things in me, but one thing that people don't know is I'm not a very musical person. I have like 20 songs in my Playlist on Spotify.

3 short questions:

Office or Remote?


What's your favorite meal?

Something Lebanese.

If you could choose a superpower, what would it be?

I would choose superintelligence at the level of Sherlock.

Thank you, Georgi!

Thank you for reading our interviews!

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page