top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarija Mijic

Meet The Team: Interview with Gábor Szabó

Welcome on board to Gábor

Happy reading!

What were you doing before craftworks?

In fact, I was already familiar with craftworks from my previous position as CTO at Harris Digital. When I had my first interview there, I met Jakob, and we later had regular conversations. I also had the opportunity to work with Tatevik, Simon, Philip, and Madis, so I knew several craftworks team members prior to joining the company.

What prompted you to apply for this job? What about this position interested you the most?

Although I never applied, Jakob reached out to me when Harris was nearing the end of its lifespan. I always admired craftworks because it is a company full of talented and knowledgeable professionals who work on a diverse range of exciting projects. I had a feeling that something good would come out of the Harris adventure, and craftworks seemed like the perfect next step.

What advice would you give someone who’s just starting out in your field?

I'm not sure if I can give perfect advice to anyone who starts, but I think the key is to have a passion for building, engineering systems and to love solving problems. This can lead you to become good and happy in your profession.

How do you prefer to start your day?

It's not a question of preference, nowadays, our morning is a rush, but after bringing my daughter to nursery school and arranging our dog I like to have a 5 minutes chill and a good coffee together with my wife.

How do you go about continuing to develop your professional skills and knowledge?

While I used to enjoy reading a lot of technical material, these days I find myself more focused on completing tasks and going with the flow. I would love to get back to my pre-COVID practice of attending meetups (and beer-ups!) with current and former colleagues and friends.

Could you tell us more about yourself? For example: what are your hobbies, and where do you like to spend your time most?

Ice hockey is currently my most important hobby, and I play in an amateur league here in Hungary. Recently, my family and I moved into a new house, which has kept us very busy with DIY projects, gardening, and even some building work. For me, it's important to do something physical and to build things with my own hands, especially since I spend so much time sitting in front of a laptop all day long.

What led you to this career, and did your expectations about craftworks come true?

I was not bad at Math in school, and going to technical university was quite an obvious choice to me. I really like that I can learn new things and that I can evolve time to time and I can find new challenges. Furthermore, I see the possibilities here at craftworks and hope all my expectations come true.

What’s one thing you’re learning now, and why is it important to you?

We have a 4-month-old puppy. Having a dog and learning how to handle him and care for him is quite challenging, especially when talking about a Newfoundlander and as our first dog ever. We are learning from each other every day.

Which book would you recommend reading and why?

I don’t have one, my last book was about Hungarian organized crime around the change of regime. I like books dealing with modern history and society, but usually these are not fun and something to recommend. :)

Could you describe craftworks in 3 words?

So far: very warm welcome. :) Thank you for this—for all of you.

3 short questions:

Coffee or tea?


Tell me one place you always wanted to travel to?

I’m not a big traveler, but I’d like to travel to Canada. I like the mountains and untouched places.

What's your favorite meal?

An oven baked meal called Rakott Krumpli.

Thank you, Gábor!

Thank you for reading our interviews!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page